C610a IP Call drop outs - and voicemail setup?

VOIP setup and troubleshooting
Post Reply
H0tchips
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 5:51 pm
Location: QLD

C610a IP Call drop outs - and voicemail setup?

Post by H0tchips » Wed Dec 11, 2013 7:48 pm

Hi,

I have a Voip service and configured my handset using the inbuilt wizard and checking against exetel settings.

Hardware:
VoIP hardware = Gigaset C610a IP
Router = TP-Link N750 WDR-4300

After I configured with supplied info from Exetel email, I have made 2 calls.

First test call: After 20 seconds I could no longer hear the other person - but they could still hear me.

Second test call: After 20 seconds receiver could no longer hear me but I could still hear them.

Settings are same as posted on another forum post here - viewtopic.php?f=58&t=40632&p=306951&hil ... et#p306951

My settings...
Image

I cannot find an Exetel configuration guide for the Gigaset C610a IP. One would be handy. :D

Can someone please help me troubleshoot this?

And just fyi, there is no indication that I can find to say if the VoIP service should go through the voice line of the NBN terminal (UNI V1, UNI V2 lines) or through the router. It is the router as the UNI voice lines seem not to be active. Trying both seemed to sort that out but it might help others to point this out somewhere. :wink:

Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6003
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: C610a IP Call drop outs - and voicemail setup?

Post by Dazzled » Wed Dec 11, 2013 8:09 pm

Two thoughts come to mind. I'd use your 10 digit number as the display name, and what are the settings on your router? You need to allow a path through the router firewall for port 5060 UDP packets heading to the C610a, eg port forwarding.

VoIP ATAs and similar devices connect to the internet via the router.

KavindaS
Forum Admin
Posts: 2503
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: C610a IP Call drop outs - and voicemail setup?

Post by KavindaS » Wed Dec 11, 2013 9:07 pm

In addition to Dazzled's suggestions, Please change the DTMF to "rfc2833", prior doing your normal troubleshooting and re check the service.

H0tchips
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 5:51 pm
Location: QLD

Re: C610a IP Call drop outs - and voicemail setup?

Post by H0tchips » Wed Dec 11, 2013 9:23 pm

I'll try the display change.

Port forwarding set up as I have read a few of those suggestions.

5060-5065 to the UP (TCP/UDP)

Still the same. Tested from my mobile, after 50seconds, sound from mobile to VoIP handset cut out. Did not come back (tried for 20secs). Ended call.

Since inbound and outbound calls are working, but voice drops after near a minute, I have to put it down to config on the router as most likely. But I don't know what settings to play with.

I did try putting my C610 in the DMZ, but still dropped sound.

KavindaS
Forum Admin
Posts: 2503
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: C610a IP Call drop outs - and voicemail setup?

Post by KavindaS » Wed Dec 11, 2013 9:31 pm

H0tchips wrote:I'll try the display change.

I did try putting my C610 in the DMZ, but still dropped sound.
Similar issue was able to resolve by changing the DTMF mode to "rfc2833".

H0tchips
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 5:51 pm
Location: QLD

Re: C610a IP Call drop outs - and voicemail setup?

Post by H0tchips » Wed Dec 11, 2013 9:33 pm

KavindaS wrote:In addition to Dazzled's suggestions, Please change the DTMF to "rfc2833", prior doing your normal troubleshooting and re check the service.
I cannot find this in router or gigaset settings. What do you mean exactly?

found it

H0tchips
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 5:51 pm
Location: QLD

Re: C610a IP Call drop outs - and voicemail setup?

Post by H0tchips » Wed Dec 11, 2013 9:45 pm

still dropping out. Inbound voice into the VoIP dies, but the other end can hear me.

always around the 50 second mark.

Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6003
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: C610a IP Call drop outs - and voicemail setup?

Post by Dazzled » Wed Dec 11, 2013 9:55 pm

Can you use a computer to see the browser interface? The router can tell you the address.

KavindaS
Forum Admin
Posts: 2503
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: C610a IP Call drop outs - and voicemail setup?

Post by KavindaS » Wed Dec 11, 2013 10:04 pm

H0tchips wrote:
KavindaS wrote:In addition to Dazzled's suggestions, Please change the DTMF to "rfc2833", prior doing your normal troubleshooting and re check the service.
I cannot find this in router or gigaset settings. What do you mean exactly?

found it
Please refer http://www.gigaset.com/fileadmin/legacy ... _en_AE.pdf and the page number 194. Yes you need to have a computer in order to do this.

Preferred dtmf mode is rfc2833.

H0tchips
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 5:51 pm
Location: QLD

Re: C610a IP Call drop outs - and voicemail setup?

Post by H0tchips » Wed Dec 11, 2013 10:10 pm

Dazzled wrote:Can you use a computer to see the browser interface? The router can tell you the address.
Yes, I am on my PC now.

Can access my Router config page and Gigaset config page.

H0tchips
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 5:51 pm
Location: QLD

Re: C610a IP Call drop outs - and voicemail setup?

Post by H0tchips » Wed Dec 11, 2013 10:13 pm

Thanks KavindaS - found the setting, tested, still drops audio one way after 50 seconds.

KavindaS
Forum Admin
Posts: 2503
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: C610a IP Call drop outs - and voicemail setup?

Post by KavindaS » Wed Dec 11, 2013 10:19 pm

H0tchips wrote:Thanks KavindaS - found the setting, tested, still drops audio one way after 50 seconds.
In that case try configuring your same voip account in a soft phone (http://www.zoiper.com) and check with few test calls. If the issue remains do let us know so we can escalate this with our Level 2 voip department.

H0tchips
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 5:51 pm
Location: QLD

Re: C610a IP Call drop outs - and voicemail setup?

Post by H0tchips » Thu Dec 12, 2013 9:23 am

KavindaS wrote:
H0tchips wrote:Thanks KavindaS - found the setting, tested, still drops audio one way after 50 seconds.
In that case try configuring your same voip account in a soft phone (http://www.zoiper.com) and check with few test calls. If the issue remains do let us know so we can escalate this with our Level 2 voip department.
Hi mate, called tech support this morning, they had me reset both router and C610a VoIP base. After a reset, all good! It was indeed the rfc 2833 setting, but seems a reset is needed to pick it up.

Thanks very much for the assist to you and Dazzled. Much appreciated.

Cheers! :mrgreen:

KavindaS
Forum Admin
Posts: 2503
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: C610a IP Call drop outs - and voicemail setup?

Post by KavindaS » Thu Dec 12, 2013 3:02 pm

Awesome :mrgreen: . Glad to hear that all good after the changes. :)

Post Reply