New website glitches

Queries, errors or glitches regarding Exetel's public web site
Post Reply
Mementh
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 11:14 am
Location: Geelong

Re: New website glitches

Post by Mementh » Thu Feb 20, 2014 10:30 am

No offense to the people being shown on the site. But do we really need to know about these poeple? Who cares what their hobbies are? Seems to me there has been some things put onto the webpage that just isnt needed. Eg.. Big green box. Im starting to think that this whole re-webdesign has failed. The old one was simple and basic and you knew where to go to do what you want. Dont try to outdo the other Net companies websites. Your company does that without a fancy website.

CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: New website glitches

Post by CoreyPlover » Thu Feb 20, 2014 12:31 pm

None of the links under "Additional Info" in the "MyExetel" dashboard work. They all seem to just revert to the home page because the nominated pages don't exist.

I am absolutely astounded at how unprofessional and lacking this website revamp is.
I am a volunteer moderator and not an Exetel staff member. As with all forum posts, mine do not constitute any "official" Exetel position. Support tickets may be logged via https://helpdesk.exetel.com.au or residentialsupport@exetel.com.au

CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: New website glitches

Post by CoreyPlover » Thu Feb 20, 2014 12:35 pm

Here is just another example of a technique that has been *deliberately* coded and which is absolutely unintuitive (and, in my opinion, "broken").

On the About us page, there is a clickable link for John Linton. Click this link changes the HTML of the first section, replacing the entire "About Us" with a section about John. There are no direct means to go back to the original displayed section except by reloading the original page. Again, I ask the question "Why code a web page this way!!!?". It makes absolutely no sense.
I am a volunteer moderator and not an Exetel staff member. As with all forum posts, mine do not constitute any "official" Exetel position. Support tickets may be logged via https://helpdesk.exetel.com.au or residentialsupport@exetel.com.au

CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: New website glitches

Post by CoreyPlover » Thu Feb 20, 2014 1:00 pm

This just gets more and more farcical. The issues with myExetel logins do not seem to have been resolved yet.

Logging in via http://exetel.com.au/, on the "My Exetel" link, and then via the Login button still results in all sorts of weirdness. It seems that some facet of jQuery is remembering the last page the user was visiting in the member facilities. More accurately, it remembers the last URL sent via jquery. So upon login, it directs the user to pages like https://www.exetel.com.au/myexetel/paym ... nts_jquery and https://www.exetel.com.au/myexetel/cust ... ges_topbar resulting in blank screens, or message like the ["op",0,0,null]" that have been previously reported.
I am a volunteer moderator and not an Exetel staff member. As with all forum posts, mine do not constitute any "official" Exetel position. Support tickets may be logged via https://helpdesk.exetel.com.au or residentialsupport@exetel.com.au

thejeg

Re: New website glitches

Post by thejeg » Thu Feb 20, 2014 2:08 pm

I have gathered all of the above issues listed and our developers are working on getting them fixed.

We thank you for your efforts in getting the website glitches corrected, and we encourage you to provide us any information / bug that you find in our new website that needs to be fixed.

trev
Posts: 171
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 12:38 pm
Location: The LAN Downunder

Re: New website glitches

Post by trev » Thu Feb 20, 2014 6:16 pm

Now when I login, the "home" screen tells me that I have an ADSL service (no - it's NBN fibre) an that "off-peak" is not available. This used to be accurate, now it's not.

KavindaS
Forum Admin
Posts: 2549
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: New website glitches

Post by KavindaS » Thu Feb 20, 2014 8:39 pm

trev wrote:Now when I login, the "home" screen tells me that I have an ADSL service (no - it's NBN fibre) an that "off-peak" is not available. This used to be accurate, now it's not.
I have brought this to the attention of the developers. We will update you.

CLoSeR
Posts: 858
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 1:49 pm
Location: West Ryde, NSW
Contact:

Re: New website glitches

Post by CLoSeR » Fri Feb 21, 2014 7:43 am

Ok, so I have a ticket (Ref: 7596101) with Exetel for not being able to change Mobile broadband plans since the introduction of the new website. I've just received an updated after 2 days of no updates telling me it's fixed, it's still not actually fixed. Here is the problem.

I am on an Exetel 3G X-Large plan which costs $69.95 for 20GB on a Month to Month rolling contract, and wish to change to their 10GB plan which I know was $34.95 before the introduction of the new site.

Now the current plans available on the Exetel website for new customers as per below link are:

http://www.exetel.com.au/resi_mobile_broadband.php

X-Small - 2GB - $15.95
Small - 5GB - $24.95
Medium - 10GB - $34.95
Large - 15GB - 49.95

It is mentioned on the page that these are 3G plans, looks like the option for 4G plans has been removed however this doesn't affect me.

Now, when I login to the Member Facilities and try to change plan I am presented with the following options:

Small - 10GB - $39.99
Medium - 15GB - $59.95
Large - 20GB - $79.95

And they all come with a 12 Month contract, now I believe these are the 4G plans which were previously available on the website as they cost more per GB and I guess they also required a 12 Month contract but I cannot be sure as I never looked at them so closely.

All I want to do is change plan and Exetel you really are not making this an easy process and clearly there are some major problems with this new website.

I should also mention if I attempt to change to the small plan above (which is wrong anyway), on the next page the price drops from $39.99 to $19.95 a month!!!

James, can you provide some insight into this mess?
Need to log a fault ticket? Go here: https://helpdesk.exetel.com.au/

dsc68
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 5:01 pm
Location: Lower Beechmont, Qld

Re: New website glitches

Post by dsc68 » Fri Feb 21, 2014 10:17 am

Wow, what a dog's breakfast of a web site. For a company celebrating 10 years in the industry, this is atrocious. There are so many issues from every prospective - technical, usability, and content.

HTML is designed to be inherently browser and screen agnostic - the client does the rendering to suit the display it has. To develop a website that breaks this inherent capability is just amateurish. There are browser plugins that allow you to test website layouts at different screen resolutions so you can avoid this mess.

The font used does not render well at the sizes chosen, resulting in it looking distorted and hard to read. The choice of dark grey on a black background for menu items is even harder to read.

Layering on the blocks is poorly designed resulting in messy overlaying when pages are scrolled or resized.

The usage graph on the summary page in the member's area shows the combined peak and off-peak downloads as the peak downloads value and does not show the off-peak value. However, when you go to the usage page is calculates them correctly. The old web site was able to do this correctly.

Some of the content is misleading to the point of dishonesty. When I look at the available residential ADSL plans, I am shown $19.99/100GB, $29.99/500GB, and $39.99/unlimited. However, when I enter my phone number, these prices all of a sudden change to $39.99, $49.99, and $59.99 respectively with no explanation. Looks very much like bait and switch advertising to me and, given the ACCC's announcement yesterday on their targeting of drip pricing, you might want to have your lawyers have a look over it.

'Horay' - Honestly, you didn't even run the website past a spellchecker? A check on grammer and punctuation would not go astray either.

So is the company's name 'exetel' or 'Exetel' now? Both appear throughout the website. Doesn't look professional.

The layout of the member area has become more complex so that it takes more clicks to perform simple tasks. This is inefficient in both usability and server resource utilisation. Why process extra page requests for no good reason, particularly if you intend this website to service a growing user base without requiring another upgrade in the not to distant future. Hell, even the home page now needs another click before you get to something useful!

The previous 'Metro inspired' website was pretty poor but this one is just embarassing :oops: .

Arn
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2004 12:30 am

Re: New website glitches

Post by Arn » Sat Feb 22, 2014 10:10 pm

I can't get any details about my usage or invoices through the new or old site.

When I login to the new site, the usage graph just displays a spinner that never stops, and all the lists below it show "No data".

I can't see any invoices in the invoice tab.

When I navigate to the old website, login, and go to My Account, I get an empty page with something like

["op",4.96,11.44,null,null,null,null]

displayed.

I'm using Chrome on Windows 7, but had the same behaviour with IE as well.

Kaushalya
Exetel Staff
Posts: 269
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 4:25 pm
Location: Australia

Re: New website glitches

Post by Kaushalya » Sat Feb 22, 2014 10:30 pm

I can't get any details about my usage or invoices through the new or old site
Hi Arn,

I will get this checked by our development team and let you know. Your ticket reference is 7613629.

Sorry for the inconvenience caused.. :(

dsc68
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 5:01 pm
Location: Lower Beechmont, Qld

Re: New website glitches

Post by dsc68 » Mon Feb 24, 2014 5:24 pm

The 'Forgot Password' link on the login page for the Member's Area doesn't work. Clicking on it does nothing.

It's the https://www.exetel.com.au/myexetel/login page, not the http://www.exetel.com.au/my_exetel.php page.

Kaushalya
Exetel Staff
Posts: 269
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 4:25 pm
Location: Australia

Re: New website glitches

Post by Kaushalya » Mon Feb 24, 2014 7:02 pm

The 'Forgot Password' link on the login page for the Member's Area doesn't work.
I have raised this matter to our developers.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused.

Col
Posts: 213
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 7:55 pm
Location: NSW

Re: New website glitches

Post by Col » Tue Feb 25, 2014 4:18 am

All the application status pages ask for a 10 digit phone number but lack a field to put it in.

In the troubleshooting section in the bottom half of http://www.exetel.com.au/my_exetel.php pretty much all the links that don't point to either this forum or the wiki are broken (sends you to the home page).

Adding to that I imagine "Excess Spend Management Policy" and "Interim Billing Process" are meant to be clickable in the Mobile Usage help section of that page.

On http://www.exetel.com.au/news.php the archive news links (years) do nothing when clicked.

trev
Posts: 171
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 12:38 pm
Location: The LAN Downunder

Re: New website glitches

Post by trev » Tue Feb 25, 2014 8:57 am

["op",4.22,12.2,50,"12:00 to 24:00","00:00 to 12:00",0]
Logging on to My Exetel now gives the above string on the page and nothing else - AGAIN.

Post Reply