Where are the network graphs?

Queries, errors or glitches regarding Exetel's public web site
User avatar
stevebow
Posts: 192
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 12:11 pm
Location: Sydney

Where are the network graphs?

Post by stevebow » Thu Jan 29, 2015 10:00 am

Have the network graphs moved to somewhere else? They were at https://www.exetel.com.au/members/a_network.php but this now gives an error 404.

Thanks,
Steve

User avatar
shoner
Posts: 756
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 2:50 pm

Re: Where are the network graphs?

Post by shoner » Thu Jan 29, 2015 12:03 pm

Hi Steve,

We apologies for the inconvenience, the Network graphs for residential services have been discontinued.
"Helping Making a Better World"

Log a fault ticket Here
or call Exetel VOIP numbers (02) 8030 1000 or 1300 788 141 (log faults 24x7)
Exetel Support Portal

User avatar
thomashouseman
Posts: 750
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Toongabbie
Contact:

Re: Where are the network graphs?

Post by thomashouseman » Thu Jan 29, 2015 4:03 pm

Why? Are they all redlining?

It was my understanding that they were all automated and didn't need to be touched.

ShaminG
Exetel Staff
Posts: 960
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:11 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Where are the network graphs?

Post by ShaminG » Thu Jan 29, 2015 7:39 pm

thomashouseman wrote:Why? Are they all redlining?

It was my understanding that they were all automated and didn't need to be touched.
This was a decision during implementation.

tocpcs
Posts: 523
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 10:01 am
Location: Online

Re: Where are the network graphs?

Post by tocpcs » Sun Feb 01, 2015 9:12 am

Decision during implementation? Heh?
"We are going to implement network graphs for customers to see, and as part of that decision, remove them"?

I suggest an alternative view, the network graphs painted a reflection of Exetel's link management, and they don't want to receive the embarassment about just how overloaded at times those links actually are.

They were a handy tool to ensure the speed slow downs were easily explained "Exetel are being cheap on backhaul again". Now, it's not so easy to determine. We can assume, but not always correctly.
I'd suggest bringing them back, so users can see for themselves if a speed issue is worthy of escalating to a supplier or not.

User avatar
stevebow
Posts: 192
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 12:11 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Where are the network graphs?

Post by stevebow » Sun Feb 01, 2015 11:51 am

tocpcs wrote:I'd suggest bringing them back, so users can see for themselves if a speed issue is worthy of escalating to a supplier or not.
I agree. If I was experiencing speed issues, the graphs were my first port of call. If the relevant graph was maxing out (or nearing max) then I would accept that as the reason and not take it any further. So I second the return of the graphs!

Thanks,
Steve

James
Exetel Staff
Posts: 1985
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 10:27 pm

Re: Where are the network graphs?

Post by James » Sun Feb 01, 2015 11:52 am

Our IP and backhaul links are not "overloaded".

User avatar
thomashouseman
Posts: 750
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Toongabbie
Contact:

Re: Where are the network graphs?

Post by thomashouseman » Sun Feb 01, 2015 12:01 pm

Really, have you got a graph to show that? :P

tocpcs
Posts: 523
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 10:01 am
Location: Online

Re: Where are the network graphs?

Post by tocpcs » Sun Feb 01, 2015 1:50 pm

James wrote:Our IP and backhaul links are not "overloaded".
That's great news, we'll just take your word for it!

Put em back, you'll probably get less slow speed complaints given users can see and accept the congestion is a link over capacity.

I suppose you'd conclude they were never at capacity if you believe the 10Gbps label on the page.
It capped out regularly for weeks some time ago at 4.5Gbps, which any one could logically conclude Exetel only had provisioned that much bandwidth at that point in time.

Perhaps that's your angle, i.e. that the link wasn't overloaded as it could go to 10Gbps, if Exetel ever paid the wholesaler to provide them that much, but the graph shows the obvious truth - 4.5Gbps was what was paid for.

I suppose my use of overloaded was incorrect, "insufficiently provisioned for the demand at the time intervals" - sound better?

The Land of Smeg
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 4:14 pm
Location: EWOD, VIC

Re: Where are the network graphs?

Post by The Land of Smeg » Tue Feb 03, 2015 6:01 am

I'm getting speed issues at different times and I really need those graphs to help isolate the issue.

thejeg

Re: Where are the network graphs?

Post by thejeg » Tue Feb 03, 2015 10:19 am

stevebow wrote:Have the network graphs moved to somewhere else? They were at https://www.exetel.com.au/members/a_network.php but this now gives an error 404.

Thanks,
Steve
Exetel has tracked monitored the benefit of providing traffic graphs to its customers over the past few months and has decided that it does not benefit to the overall customer experience. If a customer is experiencing service difficulties, we encourage them to call our friendly support team to have their issues thoroughly investigated and resolved

ericb
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: Oatley

Re: Where are the network graphs?

Post by ericb » Fri Apr 03, 2015 1:12 pm

The SMH was able to get hold of an Exetel usage graph for this article:

http://www.smh.com.au/digital-life/digi ... mdc1i.html

But Extel users aren't allowed to see them.

User avatar
thomashouseman
Posts: 750
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Toongabbie
Contact:

Re: Where are the network graphs?

Post by thomashouseman » Fri Apr 03, 2015 2:55 pm

:(

tocpcs
Posts: 523
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 10:01 am
Location: Online

Re: Where are the network graphs?

Post by tocpcs » Fri Apr 03, 2015 4:41 pm

ericb wrote:The SMH was able to get hold of an Exetel usage graph for this article:

http://www.smh.com.au/digital-life/digi ... mdc1i.html
Those aren't provided by Exetel, that's the IX Australia graphs.
.. and careful how you read those. The peaks are just the instantaneous peaks for the time involved.

User avatar
angelos
Exetel Staff
Posts: 1068
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 11:22 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Where are the network graphs?

Post by angelos » Fri Apr 03, 2015 5:13 pm

ericb wrote:The SMH was able to get hold of an Exetel usage graph for this article:

http://www.smh.com.au/digital-life/digi ... mdc1i.html

But Extel users aren't allowed to see them.
As tocpcs said, these graphs are obtained from the following, which shows the graphs for peering through IX Australia.

Refer : http://monitor.nsw.ix.asn.au/cacti/grap ... on=preview

Post Reply