Internet down since Friday

Old, inactive threads
freshmeat
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 11:17 pm

Internet down since Friday

Post by freshmeat » Fri Feb 01, 2008 11:14 am

I have not been able to connect to the net all morning.

Cycle the modem couple times (15 mintues each time) and still couldn't connect.

What's going on?

@ Brisbane Southside
Last edited by freshmeat on Mon Feb 04, 2008 6:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Martin V
Exetel Staff
Posts: 464
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 12:38 pm
Location: Sydney where else :P

Re: Internet down all morning

Post by Martin V » Fri Feb 01, 2008 11:29 am

freshmeat wrote:I have not been able to connect to the net all morning.

Cycle the modem couple times (15 mintues each time) and still couldn't connect.

What's going on?

@ Brisbane Southside
Could you provide more information?
Martin
eXeTeL Support

mykh
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 2:42 pm
Location: Perth

net but no web

Post by mykh » Fri Feb 01, 2008 11:35 am

its all working for me -oh, just not port 80!

ie no web. Is anybody at the coontrols there?

David_h
Exetel Staff
Posts: 582
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 9:20 am

Post by David_h » Fri Feb 01, 2008 11:42 am

No ports are blocked.

I have checked the helpdesk ticket you've sent in and can confirm connectivity from our end.

I have removed your IP address for security reasons, however I've sent the full ping test to your email

Pinging * with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from *: bytes=32 time=77ms TTL=252
Reply from *: bytes=32 time=75ms TTL=252
Reply from *: bytes=32 time=77ms TTL=252
Reply from *: bytes=32 time=75ms TTL=252

Ping statistics for *:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 75ms, Maximum = 77ms, Average = 76ms
-David

mykh
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 2:42 pm
Location: Perth

thanks

Post by mykh » Fri Feb 01, 2008 12:25 pm

Thanks David,
whatever you did, it works now.
Of course the ping worked before. As I said, everything except port 80 was working, which points to a problem with the transparent caching proxy.
(All devices here affected).
I changed quota today, which may be related.

David_h
Exetel Staff
Posts: 582
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 9:20 am

Post by David_h » Fri Feb 01, 2008 12:41 pm

Nothing was changed on this end that qould have blocked or cleared port 80
-David

mykh
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 2:42 pm
Location: Perth

Post by mykh » Fri Feb 01, 2008 12:48 pm

David_h wrote:Nothing was changed on this end that qould have blocked or cleared port 80
Remember that port 80 has special treatment. It is not allowed to connect to the net, only to your caching proxy - squid, akami, etc.

dogwomble
Posts: 375
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 12:21 am

Post by dogwomble » Fri Feb 01, 2008 5:05 pm

As far as I know, there are no transparent proxies running on the Exetel network for standard HTTP traffic - unless someone can correct me. And I think the Akamai server is still in development.

Either way, it's fixed now and that's the important bit...

mykh
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 2:42 pm
Location: Perth

Post by mykh » Fri Feb 01, 2008 5:18 pm

dogwomble wrote:As far as I know, there are no transparent proxies running on the Exetel network for standard HTTP traffic -
I stand corrected then! (just checked)
I thought all ISPs were using them. I wonder why not. Must cause too many problems. Exetel are going to a lot of trouble to cache P2P, and I'd have thought it a lot easier to cache all those static JPEGS, videos, etc on the web.

So why was https, dns, voip, email etc working for us, but not regular web?
Odd.

And still no word back from the OP.

mojom@n
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 6:43 pm
Location: Brisbane,australia

Post by mojom@n » Fri Feb 01, 2008 5:41 pm

I have been getting bad speed and heap of disconnects normally 7200/384 but now.



Status: Up
Downstream Rate: 544 Kbps
Upstream Rate: 288 Kbps

howie
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 12:35 pm
Location: Mandurah, WA

Post by howie » Fri Feb 01, 2008 7:05 pm

just to add. Same thing happened to me thing morning. Wasn't working for about an hour. Some of my work web sites still worked (maybe no-cache in the http header??), but others didn't. Exetel website and google and what not didn't work. HTTP Redirects still worked (type in www.google.com, it would resolve, it would then redirect to www.google.com.au, then waiting for reply...), but pages wouldn't download. Pings were fine.

Can't just be port 80, coz other services affected too. https isn't cached coz can't cache encrypted stuff.

Certainly a weird problem.

Using tesltra proxy didn't work either, but I could ping it.

Strange that I could access my work website, but not the exetel web site.

freshmeat
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 11:17 pm

Post by freshmeat » Sat Feb 02, 2008 2:50 pm

Still CAN't CoNNECT!!. Getting really pissed off now.
now 2 days without NET connection.

Logged fault 3 times. no fix yet. except the stupid answering machine.
cycle modem many times. didn't change any settings. tried differnet caps.. still can't connect...

been using exetel for a loonnng time first time i'm out this long...

more info ? no connection. adsl snr all good 27/47 nothing 's changed from old values. adsl line connected no filters no nothing except adsl line

wtf am i suppose to do if i can't call and talk to someone and can't access the net ?!?!?

freshmeat
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 11:17 pm

Post by freshmeat » Mon Feb 04, 2008 6:05 pm

4th day since I lost conneciton.

Can I plz get an update of the problem plz? I have pm'ed my service number and tried to call already.

Himantha
Exetel Staff
Posts: 181
Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 1:44 am

Post by Himantha » Mon Feb 04, 2008 6:14 pm

Hi,

We have logged this fault with our supplier and they are currently investigating the issue.

We will advising once any updates come through further more please leave your modem on at all times.

freshmeat wrote:4th day since I lost conneciton.

Can I plz get an update of the problem plz? I have pm'ed my service number and tried to call already.

denkenz
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 9:49 am
Location: Brisbane, Southside

Post by denkenz » Tue Feb 05, 2008 3:10 pm

Having the same issue as the original poster. Net connection went offline early on Friday and hasn't been back since. Brisbane Southside. Submitted fault #22452

Locked